CSS Notes Pakistan Affairs Notes

List of Founders and activists of the Pakistan Movement

List of Founders and activists of the Pakistan Movement
Written by CSS Times

The Founders and activists of the Pakistan Movement, also known as Founding Fathers of Pakistan, were the political leaders and statespersons who participated in the success of the political movement, following the signing of the Pakistan Resolution, that led the establishment and creation of the independent Pakistan on August 1947. Within this large group, a further and extended subset signed the Objective Resolution that was annexed to the Constitution of Pakistan in 1950.

The term was first used by the linguist and archeologist Dr. Ahmad Hasan Dani’s book, the Founding Fathers of Pakistan (1998), which popularized the term in literary activities of the country. The Pakistan Movement was led by a large group of activists and statesmen who played crucial role in the politics of the British Indian Empire in 1930s and 1940s. More recently, the term was used by the government officially in explaining the foreign policy text.  Authors and historians of Pakistan more broadly define the term “Founding Fathers” to mean a larger group which also includes all those who, whether as politicians, jurists, statesperson, soldiers, diplomats, academicians, or ordinary citizens, took part in winning the independence of four provinces in the north-west region of British India from the control of the United Kingdom and also from the influence of the Indian Congress; this creating Pakistan.

The following is a list of people who played a prominent role in making of Pakistan as independence activists, leaders, freedom fighters and revolutionaries.

List of Founders of Pakistan

Muhammad Ali Jinnah (1876–1948) Karachi, Sindh

  • Founder of Pakistan
  • First Governor-General of Pakistan
  • First President-Speaker of the Constituent Assembly
  • Presiding figure of the Muslim League

Allama Muhammad Iqbal (1877–1939) Sialkot, Punjab

  • Presented and conceived the idea of Pakistan
  • Formalize the Two-Nation Theory
  • Philosopher and Poet of Urdu language

Aga Khan III (1877–1957) Karachi, Sindh

  • Key presiding figure of the Muslim League
  • Led the Ismailism movement in support of Pakistan movement.

Liaquat Ali Khan (1895–1951) Karnal, Punjab

  • First Prime Minister of Pakistan
  • Author of Objectives Resolution

Fatima Jinnah (1893–1967) Karachi, Sindh

  • Regarded as Māder-e-Pakistan
  • Woman activist
  • Younger sister of Muhammad Ali Jinnah
  • Leader of the Opposition during 1965 elections

Fazlul Huq (1873–1962) Barisal, Bengal

  • Ascended as Interior Minister of Pakistan
  • Governor of East Pakistan

Khawaja Nazimuddin (1894–1964) Dhaka, Bengal

  • First Bengali leader of Pakistan
  • Second Prime Minister of Pakistan
  • Second Governor-General of Pakistan

Naseer Ahmad Malhi (1911–1991) Sialkot, Punjab

  • First Minister of Education

Rahmat Ali (1897–1951) Balachaur, Punjab

  • Coined and created “Pakistan”
  • Author of Now or Never

Bahadur Yar Jung
(1905–1944) Hyderabad

Raja Ghazanfar Ali Khan (1895–1963) Jhelum, Punjab

  • Leader of Pakistan Movement
  • close companion of Muhammad Ali Jinnah
  • minister and diplomat

Muhammad Arif Khan Rajbana Sial (1913–2010) Jhang, Punjab

  • Key presiding figure of the Muslim League.
  • Member All-India Constituent Assembly.
  • Chief Party Whip.

G. M. Syed (1904–1995) Karachi, Sindh

  • Key presiding figure of the Muslim League
  • Rallied Sindh’s support for Pakistan movement

Abdur Rab Nishtar (1899–1958) Peshawar, Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa

  • Governor of Punjab
  • First Minister of communications

Huseyn Suhrawardy (1892–1963) Dhaka, Bengal

  • First Prime Minister of Pakistan of Pakistan
  • Enforcer of One Unit

Mohammad Ali Jouhar (1878–1931) Rampur, Uttar Pradesh

  • Muslim cleric and leader of Khilafat Movement
  • Key presiding figure of the Muslim League

Shaukat Ali (1873–1939) Rampur, Uttar Pradesh

  • Muslim cleric and leader of Khilafat Movement
  • Key presiding figure of the Muslim League

Jalal-ud-din Jalal Baba (1901–1981) Abbottabad, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

  • Founder of Hazara Muslim League
  • Senior Muslim Leaguer and winner of referendum in NWFP

Zafar Ali Khan (1873–1956) Wazirabad, Punjab

  • Poet of Urdu language

Mohammad Abdul Ghafoor Hazarvi (1909–1970) Wazirabad, Punjab

  • Orator, Spiritual Leader of Pakistan Movement

Ra’ana Ali Khan (1905–1990) Almora,

  • First Lady of Pakistan
  • Governor of Sindh
  • Initiated Women military corps
  • Widely known as Māder-e-Pakistan”

Jogendra Nath Mandal (1904–1968) Barisal, Bengal

  • First Law Minister of Pakistan

Victor Turner (1892–1974) London United Kingdom

  • Founded Federal Board of Revenue
  • First Finance Secretary of Pakistan
  • Founder of Pakistan Civil Services

Syed Amir-uddin Kedwaii (1901–1973) Barabanki, Uttar Pradesh

  • Designed the Pakistani Flag

Khaliq-uz-Zaman (1889–1963) Rampur, Uttar Pradesh

Presiding figure of the Muslim League
Jahanara Shahnawaz (1896–1979) Lahore, Punjab
Crucial role in women legislature after the independence.

Before you leave check our other Notes for CSS, PMS and related Exams

About the author

CSS Times

CSSTimes.pk delivers free CSS online direction, approaches, books, online study-materials with an idea that no aspirant should be left out of FPSC exam competition due to Inaccessibility to costly CSS coaching centers. We write simple, Stress-free language to understand articles. We always check high standards of excellence

Leave a Comment