CSS Study Material World General Knowledge

Countries That No Longer Exist | World General Knowledge

As countries merge, split, or just decide to change their name, the list of “missing” countries that no longer exist grows.

1) Abyssinia
The name of Ethiopia until the early 20th century.

2) Austria-Hungary
A monarchy (also known as the Austro-Hungarian Empire) that was established in 1867 and included not just Austria and Hungary, but also parts of the Czech Republic, Poland, Italy, Romania, and the Balkans. The empire collapsed at the end of World War I.

3) Basutoland
Lesotho’s name prior to 1966.

4) Bengal
An independent kingdom from 1338-1539, now part of Bangladesh and India.

5) Burma
Burma officially changed its name to Myanmar in 1989 but many countries still aren’t recognizing the change, such as the United States.

6) Catalonia
This autonomous region of Spain was independent from 1932-1934 and 1936-1939.

7) Ceylon
Changed its name to Sri Lanka in 1972.

8) Champa
Located in south and central Vietnam from the 7th century through 1832.

9) Corsica
This Mediterranean island was ruled by various nations over the course of history but had several brief periods of independence. Today, Corsica is a department of France.

10) Czechoslovakia
Peacefully split into the Czech Republic and Slovakia in 1993.

11) East Germany and West Germany
Merged in 1989 to form a unified Germany.

12) East Pakistan
This province of Pakistan from 1947-1971 became Bangladesh.

13) Gran Colombia
A South American country that included what is now Colombia, Panama, Venezuela, and Ecuador from 1819-1830. Gran Colombia ceased to exist when Venezuela and Ecuador seceded.

14) Hawaii
Though a kingdom for hundreds of years, Hawaii wasn’t recognized as an independent country until the 1840s. The country was annexed to the U.S. in 1898.

15) New Granada
This South American country was part of Gran Colombia from 1819-1830 and was independent from 1830-1858. In 1858, the country became known as the 16 Grenadine Confederation, then the United States of New Granada in 1861, the United States of Colombia in 1863, and finally, the Republic of Colombia in 1886.

16) Newfoundland
From 1907 to 1949, Newfoundland existed as the self-governing Dominion of Newfoundland. In 1949, Newfoundland joined Canada as a province

17) North Yemen and South Yemen
Yemen split in 1967 into two countries, North Yemen (a.k.a. Yemen Arab Republic) and South Yemen (a.k.a. People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen). However, in 1990 the two rejoined to form a unified Yemen.

18) Ottoman Empire
Also known as the Turkish Empire, this empire began around 1300 and expanded to include parts of contemporary Russia, Turkey, Hungary, the Balkans, northern Africa, and the Middle East. The Ottoman Empire ceased to exist in 1923 when Turkey declared independence from what remained of the empire.

19) Persia
The Persian Empire extended from the Mediterranean Sea to India. Modern Persia was founded in the sixteenth century and later became known as Iran.

20) Prussia
Became a Duchy in 1660 and a kingdom in the following century. At its greatest extent it included the northern two-thirds of Germany and western Poland. Prussia, by World War II a federal unit of Germany, was fully disbanded at the end of World War II.

21) Rhodesia
Zimbabwe was known as Rhodesia (named after British diplomat Cecil Rhodes) prior to 1980.

22) Scotland, Wales, and England
Despite recent advances in autonomy, part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, both Scotland and Wales were independent nations that were merged with England to form the U.K.

23) Siam
Changed its name to Thailand in 1939.

24) Sikkim
Now part of far northern India, Sikkim was an independent monarchy from the 17th century until 1975.

25) South Vietnam
Now part of a unified Vietnam, South Vietnam existed from 1954 to 1976 as the anti-communist portion of Vietnam.

26) Southwest Africa
Gained independence and became Namibia in 1990.

27) Taiwan
While Taiwan still exists, it is not always considered an independent country. However, it did represent China in the United Nations until 1971.

28) Tanganyika and Zanzibar
These two African countries united in 1964 to form Tanzania.

29) Texas
The Republic of Texas gained independence from Mexico in 1836 and existed as an independent country until annexation to the United States in 1845.

30) Tibet
A kingdom established in the 7th century, Tibet was invaded by China in 1950 and has since been known as the Xizang Autonomous Region of China.

31) Transjordan
Became the independend kingdom of Jordan in 1946.

32) Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)
Broke into fifteen new countries in 1991: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldovia, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

33) United Arab Republic From 1958 to 1961, non-neighbors Syria and Egypt merged to become a unified country. In 1961 Syria abandoned the alliance but Egypt kept the name United Arab Republic itself for another decade.

34) Urjanchai Republic
South-central Russia; independent from 1912 to 1914.

35) Vermont
In 1777 Vermont declared independence and existed as an independent country until 1791, when it became the first state to enter the United States after the thirteen colonies.

36) West Florida
Parts of Florida, MIssissippi, and Louisana were independent for ninety days in 1810.

37) Western Samoa
Changed its name to Samoa in 1998.

38) Yugoslavia
The original Yugoslavia divided up into Bosnia, Croatia, Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro, and Slovenia in the early 1990s.

39) Zaire
Changed its name to the Democratic Republic of the Congo in 1997.

40) Zanzibar and Tanganyika
merged to form Tanzania in 1964.

About the author

Shahzad F. Malik

Shahzad Faisal Malik is the administrator of CSSTimes.pk and is responsible for managing the content, design, and overall direction of the blog. He has a strong background in Competitive Exams and is passionate and sharing information with others.
Shahzad Faisal Malik has worked as a Graphic Designer/Content Creator at CSSTimes in the past. In his free time, Shahzad Faisal Malik enjoys watching Cricket, writing blogs for different websites and is always on the lookout for new and interesting content to share with the readers of this website.
As the website administrator, Shahzad Faisal Malik is dedicated to providing high-quality content and fostering a welcoming and engaging community for readers. He looks forward to connecting with readers and hearing their thoughts and feedback on the website.

Leave a Comment