little lesbian teen
World General Knowledge CSS Notes

Complete List of Viceroy of British India | Indo Pak History Notes

List of Viceroy of British India Indo Pak History
Written by Shahzad F. Malik

Complete List of Viceroy of British India | Indo Pak History Notes

As per the Regulating Act of 1773, the post of Governor General came into existence. Earlier, the Governor General of Bengal was appointed by East India Company. After the adoption of Government of India Act 1858, Governor General become Viceroy of India.

Lord Canning (856-1862)

He was the Governor General during Mutiny of 1857 and after the war; he was made first Viceroy of India. He withdrew Doctrine of lapse. Indian Council Act was passed in 1861 University of Bombay, Calcutta, Madras was established in 1857

Lord Lawrence (864-1869)

High Court was established at Calcutta, Bombay, Madras in 1865.He created Indian Forest Department. Opened telegraph line with Europe. He introduced various reforms and became the member of Punjab Board of Administration after second Sikh war. He was known as the Savior of Punjab.

Lord Mayo (869-1872)

Started financial decentralization in India. He established Rajkot College in Kathiawar and Mayo College in Ajmer for Indian princess. First Census of India was held during his time in 1871. He organized Statistical survey of India. He was the only Viceroy who was murdered in office by a pathan in Andaman in 1872.

Lord Lytton (876-1880)

The Delhi Durbar was held on January 1 1877, to decorate Queen Victoria with the title of Kaiser-i-hind. Statutory Civil Service in 1879. It was also laid down that the candidates had to appear and pass the civil services examination which began to be held in England. The maximum age for these candidates were reduced from 21 to 19 years. Vernacular press Act was passed in 1878.

Lord Rippon (880-1884)

Age for the entry in Civil Service exam was raised to 21 years. University of Punjab Lahore was established in 1882 First Factory act was passed during his time in 1881, it prohibited the child labour. Illbert Bill in 1883 was passed by him. Passed Local Self Government act in 1882.

Check Also: History for Indo Pak MCQs

Lord Dufferin (884-1888)

He formed the Indian National Congress.

Lord Lansdowne (888-1894)

Indian Council Act was passed in 1892.Second Factory Act (1891) was passed during his time. He appointed Durand Commission to define a line between British India and Afghanistan.

Lord Curzon (899-1905)

Partition of Bengal (1905) into two provinces- Bengal and East Bengal was done during his time. Passed the Ancient Monuments Act (1904), to restore India’s cultural heritage. Thus, established Archeological Survey of India.

Lord Minto (905-1910)

Morley-Minto reform was passed in 1909.

Lord Hardinge (910-1916)

Partition of Bengal was cancelled and capital shifted from Calcutta to Delhi in 1911.Home Rule moment was launched by Annie Beasant.

Lord Chelmsford (916-1921)

August Declaration of 1917, after which the control over the Indian Government would be transferred to Indian people. Rowlett Act 1919 was passed Montague-Chelmsford reform was passed. Jallianwala Bagh Massacre 1919 took place during his time. Non- Cooperation and Khilafat movement took place. Women’s University was founded at Poona in 1919

Check also: 10 Attractive Facts About Pakistan You Must Know

Lord Reading (921-1926)

Suppressed of non-cooperation movement Chauri -Chaura incident took place. Formation of Swaraj party. Ahmedabad session of INS held in 1921. The NED University of Engineering and Technology Karachi was established in 1921.

Lord Irwin (926-1931)

Simon commission visited India in 1928.Dandi March was held in 1930.Civil Disobedience movement launched in 1930.Gandhi- Irwin pact was signed and First Round Table Conference was held in 1931.

Lord Willingdon (931-1936)

Poona Pact was signed. Second and Third Round Table Conference was held during his time. Communal Award started by British Prime Minister Raman Magsaysay. Government of India Act (1935) was passed.

Lord Linlithgow (936-1944)

Government of India Act enforced in provinces. Cripps Mission visited India in 1942.Quit India movement was started in 1942.Second World war took place in 1939.

Lord Wavell (944-1947)

Shimla Conference was held on June 25, 1945 between Muslim League and Indian national Congress was failed. Cabinet Mission Plan was launched in 1946.On December 09, 1946, first meeting of Constituent Assembly was held.

Lord Mountbatten (March 1947- August 1947)

Last Viceroy and first Governor General of free India. Partition of India was done on June 3, 1947.India Independent Act was passed on July 4, 1947 by British parliament. As per the Act Pakistan became independent on August 14, 1947.He was succeeded by C. Rajagopalachari, who was the last Governor General of free India.

Check Other World General Knowledge Series

hindi sex stories

About the author

Shahzad F. Malik

Shahzad Faisal Malik is the administrator of and is responsible for managing the content, design, and overall direction of the blog. He has a strong background in Competitive Exams and is passionate and sharing information with others.
Shahzad Faisal Malik has worked as a Graphic Designer/Content Creator at CSSTimes in the past. In his free time, Shahzad Faisal Malik enjoys watching Cricket, writing blogs for different websites and is always on the lookout for new and interesting content to share with the readers of this website.
As the website administrator, Shahzad Faisal Malik is dedicated to providing high-quality content and fostering a welcoming and engaging community for readers. He looks forward to connecting with readers and hearing their thoughts and feedback on the website.

Leave a Comment